It's About Time

Guest Conducting Concert Programme Details

Exploring the themes of time and love, the fresh, invigorating and classic concert programme It's About Time brings radiant smiles of joy and delight to the faces of even the most critical, seasoned classical music audience members, as well as being a highly effective vehicle for warmly welcoming newer audiences to the symphony. Captivating, engaging, tantilising, inspiring. Music to fall in love by and with. 

It's About Time production sample posterFeaturing classic arias and orchestral works by Mozart, Rossini and their contemporaries, It's About Time takes the listener on a highly entertaining musical journey - from the pleasant tick tock of Haydn's elegant The Clock symphony through to the heart warming tale of Cinderella's romantic success. Via fond farewells, sweet rest, hope and longing, and welcome returns, the programme culminates in Mendelssohn's triumphant Wedding March. 

Alongside the orchestral works, It's About Time features some of the most sparkling 18th century soprano arias exploring the programme's themes, such as Pasiello's "Il mio ben" and Mozart's Rose Aria

Simon Murphy first performed the programme with the NDA in the orchestra's symphonic series in The Hague's Philipszaal in 2011 with Danish soprano Nina Bols Lundgren as soloist. 


Concert Programme 

J. Haydn Symphony no. 101 in D The Clock
W.A. Mozart Overture to Le Nozze di Figaro
G. Rossini Overture to La Cenerentola (Cinderella)
D. Cimarosa Overture to Il Matrimonio Segretto
W.A. Mozart Susanna’s Aria “Deh vieni, non tardar” from Le Nozze di Figaro
G. Rossini Fiorilla’s Aria “Non si dà follia maggiore” from Il Turco in Italia
G. Paisiello Cavatina “Il mio ben” from Nina
W.A. Mozart Concert Aria “Nehmt meinen Dank”
G. Rossini Giulia’s Aria “Il mio ben sospiro e chiamo” from La Scala di Seta
G. Rossini Overture to Il barbiere di Siviglia (The Barber of Seville)

[Encore F. Mendelssohn-Bartholdy Wedding March (from A Midsummer Night's Dream)]

An alternate version of the programme is available with arias for mezzo soprano

Package Details 

Each of Simon Murphy's guest conducting packages features completely marked-up orchestral performance material (scores and parts), necessary planning information, a selection of audio/visual promotional material, complete vocal texts and programme notes. 

Further programme information and enquiries: 

Programmes and Programme Concepts © Simon Murphy, 2013